Skip to Content

NAMMA Seafarers’rnWelfare Awards

The North American Maritime Ministry Association recognizes those who have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to serving seafarers. At this time, we offer two awards:

Distinguished Service Award

This award (previously called the Lifetime Membership Award) is for those who have given exemplary service to seafarers’ welfare over many years both within a local seafarers’ ministry and in other local, regional, national, or international bodies. Nominees should be or have been in the past, a NAMMA member, part of a NAMMA affiliated agency, or a substantial partner with NAMMA in our programs. These awards normally will be presented at a NAMMA conference or meeting, but may also be presented online. Award recipients will be notified in advance of the meeting so that they can make appropriate preparation to attend.
Read more

Volunteer Dedication Award

This award recognizes any volunteer (individual, couple, or group) who has contributed significant service to a local seafarers’ ministry. NAMMA affiliated agencies can nominate their volunteers for this award. Certificates will be mailed to the affiliated agency so they can, if possible, present the certificate to the volunteer(s) in person
Read more

Should you wish to nominate someone for one of these awards, please write to the NAMMA Executive Director: Nominees are considered by the Executive Committee of the NAMMA Board

Thank you to all our Members and partners for their support of seafarers’ welfare and the recognition of the dedicated volunteers and professionals who give tirelessly of their lives for the betterment of mariners!

Past recipients of our Distinguished Service Award (since 2017)

u003culu003ern tu003cliu003eThe Rev’d Mary HT Williams, Baltimore International Seafarers’ Center – (to be presented at NAMMA Annual Conference, Aug 9, 2022)u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eNiels Aalund, Director, Government Affairs and Public Relations, Bay-Houston Towing Co. and West Gulf Maritime Association (retired) – (to be presented at NAMMA Annual Conference, Aug 9, 2022)u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eu003cstrongu003eu003ca href=u0022 Fulleru003c/au003eu003c/strongu003e, Texas Port Ministries – 2022u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eChaplain Ruth Setaro, Seafarers’ International House – New Haven – 2021u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eRev. David Wells, Houston International Seafarers’ Center – 2021u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eu003ca href=u0022;ab_channel=nammaorgu0022u003eu003cstrongu003eChaplain Trish Alligoodu003c/strongu003eu003c/au003e, Anchor House Mission, Port Manatee – 2021u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eu003ca href=u0022;ab_channel=nammaorgu0022u003eu003cstrongu003eKenneth Hawkinsu003c/strongu003eu003c/au003e, Mission to Seafarers Seattle – 2020u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eu003ca href=u0022;ab_channel=nammaorgu0022u003eu003cstrongu003eLesley Warricku003c/strongu003eu003c/au003e, Seafarers’ House – Ft Lauderdale – 2020u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eu003ca href=u0022;t=8su0026amp;ab_channel=nammaorgu0022u003eu003cstrongu003eJoan Lyonsu003c/strongu003eu003c/au003e, Seamens’ Center of Wilmington, DE – 2020u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eKathleen “Kate” Hunt, Seafarers’ International Union – 2020u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eu003ca href=u0022 Parsonsu003c/strongu003eu003c/au003e, Galveston Seafarers’ Center – 2020u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eThe Rev. Linwood “Len” Williams, Charleston Port and Seafarers’ Society, 2019u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eRev. Maggie Whittingham Lamont, Mission to Seafarers, Halifax, 2019u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eDouglas B. Stevenson, SCI New York u0026amp; New Jersey, 2019u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eu003ca href=u0022 Patrick Dempseyu003c/strongu003eu003c/au003e, Stella Maris, New Orleans, 2018u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eu003cstrongu003eu003ca href=u0022 James Von Dreeleu003c/au003eu003c/strongu003e, SCI Philadelphia u0026amp; South Jersey, 2018u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eu003ca href=u0022 Andy Kreyu003c/strongu003eu003c/au003e, Maritime Bethel Savannah, 2018u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eu003ca href=u0022 Ron Perkinsu003c/strongu003eu003c/au003e, Seafarers’ House – Ft Lauderdale, 2018u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eCarleen Lyden-Walker, NAMEPA, 2017u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eClay Maitland, NAMEPA, 2017u003c/liu003ernu003c/ulu003e

Recipients of our Lifetime Membership Award (before 2017):

u003culu003ern tu003cliu003eMr. Richard H. Beuthelu003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eChaplain Lloyd Burghartu003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eKaren Burghartu003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eRev. Paul K. Chapmanu003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eRev. Charles S. Coreyu003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eRev. Aias de Souzau003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eThe Most Rev’d T.E. “Terry” Finlayu003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eRev. David Hurtyu003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eRev. Dr. Roald Kverndalu003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eRev. Jim Lindgrenu003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eBr. Ed Munrou003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eMs. Patricia Nemecu003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eRev. Heinz R. Neumannu003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eChaplain Clint Padgittu003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eFr. Rivers Patout IIIu003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eJohn A. Sansone, Jr.u003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eRev. Jean Smithu003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eAllene T. Tayloru003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eChaplain Alice Reese Thomasu003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eRev. James R. Whittemoreu003c/liu003ern tu003cliu003eRev. Capt. Tae Seog Yangu003c/liu003ernu003c/ulu003e

Back to top